Your Georgia driver’s license can be suspended from accumulating too many points

Accumulating points can result in the suspension of your driver’s license in Georgia. In addition to points accumulation, your driver’s license can be suspended if you are convicted of an offense that carries a mandatory suspension such as DUI or driving with no insurance.

How do you get points? How are points assessed towards your Georgia Driver's License?

If you are convicted of a traffic violation, the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) will assess points towards your driving history. The number of points DDS assesses depends on the type of violation. The Georgia Point System ranges from 2 to 6 points.

How many points will suspend my driver’s license in Georgia?

For drivers 21 years old and older, any person who has accumulated 15 or more points in any 24-month period shall have their driver’s license automatically suspended.

For drivers under 21 years old, 4 or more points will suspend your driver’s license. In addition, there are some traffic violations that will cause a 21 and under driver to have their driver’s license automatically suspended. 

Out of state violations also count and points will be assessed based on Georgia’s point schedule. 

Georgia Driver’s License Point Schedule – Common Violations

Traffic Violation Points
Reckless Driving
4 points
Unlawful passing of a school bus
6 points
Improper passing on hill or curve
4 points
Speeding
15 mph but less than 19 mph over
2 points
19 mph but less than 24 mph
3 points
24 mph but less than 34 mph
4 points
34 mph or more
6 points
Disregard of any traffic-control device or signal
3 points
Possessing an open container of an alcoholic beverage while driving
2 points
Failure to adequately secure a load
2 points
Child restraint – 1st offense
1 point
Child restraint – 2nd and subsequent offense
2 points
Aggressive driving
6 points
HOV lane violation – 4th and subsequent offense
1 point
All other moving violations
3 points

What is the purpose of the Georgia Driver's License Points System?

The primary purpose of the Driver’s License Point System in Georgia is to identify, and suspend, drivers who operate their vehicle in an unsafe manner. Not only can the Point System cause your driver’s license to be suspended, but it can also cause your insurance premiums to go higher, or even make it difficult to obtain insurance coverage all together.

Are limited driving permits available for drivers whose license is suspended because of points?

Any person may apply for a limited driving permit if their license was suspended due to a points accumulation suspension if the following conditions have been met:

  1. They have not been convicted of a DUI within the last 5 years; and
  2. This is their first license suspension due to points accumulation within the last 5 years.

Can I plead NOLO or nolo contendere?

DDS will accept one plea of nolo contendere for a moving traffic violation in any 5-year period without assigning points to that motorist’s driving record. Any subsequent nolo contendere pleas will result in points being assessed against the motorist’s driving record.

The Brodie Law Group is here to help

Contact the attorneys at the Brodie Law Group for help with your case today. Our number is (478) 239-2780. We are here when you need us most. 

Contact Us Today

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.